CoverGirl LashBlast Volume Mascara
Rating: 4/5
MSRP: $7.99 on the CoverGirl website

As a monolidder, mascara has always been somewhat problematic for me: it’s a necessity if I want to open-up my eyes, BUT it is such a pain in the butt to find a good one. Until I developed my technique I would end up with (what seemed like) more product on my upper AND lower eyelids than on my lashes. Even then, until I knew what to look for in a mascara, after a while the mascara would end up brushing off on my face anyways because of the extra tissue around my eyes.

Even with added experience and knowledge, I still struggle with it from time to time, especially when im sweating under hot stage lights for dance and theatre performances. So, when CoverGirl sent me a sample of their LashBlast Volume mascara (non-waterproof) I didn’t expect much. In the end I am very happy with the product and will continue to use it. Though, I am on the fence about whether I would repurchase it when I finish the tube!

Packaging

image

I am very picky about the type of wand my mascara has. I love that they cap the mascara and leave the brush out so that you can see the brush. It also seems cleaner to me for some reason.

Ingredients and health

Wand and application

image

The best I can say about this wand is that it’s OK. It’s not terrible, nor is it great, it really just somewhere in the middle. The silicone bristles apply product evenly, however they don’t do much to separate individual lashes.
As I mentioned earlier, my monolids LOVE rubbing up against my makeup applicators and attract makeup. For this fact I usually gravitate toward SMALL mascara wands, sometimes even ones meant for bottom lashes so that I can coat every little lash without smearing them on my lids. Though the wand on the CoverGirl LashBlast Volume mascara is a full sized wand it didn’t get all over the place, even when I hurriedly swept it through my lashes on my way to work.

Immediate results

image

All this really took was a single coat and I got a very wide-eyed yet natural look. I kept adding additional coats to see how far I could take the mascara, waiting a few seconds between each application and was able to achieve a pretty dramatic look without curling my lashes.

When applying a single coat, the mascara applies very smoothly and naturally. However if you do apply multiple coats this stuff does start to clump a bit, and the wand doesn’t help with this much. When you have a clumpy mascara formyla, a good wand with bristles that separate lashes can usually help this, and unfortunately this wand doesn’t cut it. You can, of course add the extra step of cleaning up the application by combing through the lashes with a clean brush.

Results over time

image
Top: immediately after application: Bottom: after a night out and sleeping with mascara on

For a non-waterproof mascara, I am seriously impressed. I have extra tissue under my eyes that can make me look like a basset hound when black mascara falls onto them. I expected this mascara to fall onto my lower eyelids very heavily, however it hardly did so at all! If anything all it did was flake a bit while I slept overnight. And any flakiness that fell to my face while i slept overnight was easily brushed off. Not that you’d want keep makeup on for this long, it was just the best way to test the longevity of this mascara.

Washing and removing
Washing this stuff off was incredibly easy using a cleansing oil, but that is the benefit of a cleansing oil, of course. My lashes don’t feel brittle at all after long wear with this mascara.

